4👑☸ Cattāri Ariya-saccaṃ 四聖諦

SN 36 Vedanā Saṃyutta

experienced-sensations, feelings

31 suttas, 3 vaggas (chapters).

4👑☸SN‍SN 36📇       🔝

🔗🔊 SN 36 audio recordings in many languages

sa-gāthā-vaggo: with verses chapter (1 of 3)

(all 10 suttas use 3 fold vedana classification)

SN 36.1 0m, Samādhi: undistractible-lucidity:
seeing rise, fall, destruction of 3 types of feelings within jhāna samadhi

SN 36.2 0m, Sukha: pleasure:
losing passion for 3 types of feeling

SN 36.3 0m, Pahāna: removal:
removal of underlying tendencies of 3 types of feeling leads to destruction of āsavas.

SN 36.4 0m, Pātāla: Bottomless Abyss:
painful feeling specified as bodily (sārīrikāya dukkhāya vedanāya)

SN 36.5 0m, Daṭṭhabba: Should-be-seen:
sukha vedana is dukkha, dukkha vedana is a dart, a-dukkham-a-sukham is impermanent

SN 36.6 0m, Salla: Dart:
Ordinary person experiences a dukkha vedana as a painful physical feeling,
followed by a mental painful feeling (so dve vedanā vedayati — kāyikañca, cetasikañca.).
Ariya-savako only gets struck by the first dart (physical)

SN 36.7 0m, Gelañña 1: Sick-ward 1:
sati & sampajāno defined exactly same as SN 47.2.
Then, it walks through 3 types of feeling each dependent on anatomical body (imameva kāyaṃ paṭicca).
Finally, the investigation of vedana takes you all the way to Nirvana, while in satipatthana, with lamp simile.

SN 36.8 0m, Gelañña 2: Sick-ward 2:
same as previous sutta, except instead of body (kāya),
substitute in contact (phassaṃ paṭicca).

SN 36.9 0m, A-nicca: Im-permanent:
using several synonyms and qualifications to show impermanence of 3 types of feelings

SN 36.10 0m, Phassa-mūlaka: Contact-as-root:
3 types of feelings all rooted and originated from contact (phassa).
simile of 2 fire sticks not touching.

Rahogata Vagga: Alone chapter 2 of 3

SN 36.11 7m, Rahogata: Alone:
|| SA 474 止息: subsidings: (SN 36.11, 15-18 are parallels)
3 fold vedana scheme. Connected to dukkha and saṅkhārā,
then 9 progressive cessations in samādhi attainments similar to the 30 suttas in AN 9.30-AN 9.60,
with the very interesting and unique feature of first jhāna with speech (vāca) ceasing.
Note this feature of first jhāna then gets repeated in this Vagga 4 more times in SN 36.15-18.

SN 36.12 0m, Ākāsa 1: Sky 1:
3 types of feelings compared to various kinds of wind blowing to sky,
vedana connect to body ( kāyasmiṃ vividhā vedanā uppajjanti),
and again vedana expressed as bodily in verse (“tathevimasmiṃ kāyasmiṃ)

SN 36.13 0m, Ākāsa 2: Sky 2:
same as Sky 1 sutta, without verse.

SN 36.14 0m, Agāra: guest-house:
9 fold vedana scheme (like SN 36.31 and MN 10 vedana-anupassana),
originating from body (kāyasmiṃ vividhā vedanā uppajjanti)

SN 36.15 0m, Santaka 1 (AKA Ananda 1):
7fold investigation (what is feeling, its origin, cessation, way to end, gratification, danger, escape).
rest of the sutta then incorporates 9 successive cessations from SN 36.11

SN 36.16 0m, Santaka 2 (AKA Ananda 2):
almost exactly the same as SN 36.15, with slight difference in how Ananda greets Buddha.

SN 36.17 0m, Aṭṭhaka 1:
Same as SN 36.15 to 16, except that the Bhikkhus are the questioners instead of Ananda.

SN 36.18 0m, Aṭṭhaka 2:
Same as SN 36.15 to 16, except that the Bhikkhus are the questioners instead of Ananda.

SN 36.19 0m, Pañcak-aṅga: five-tool-(carpenter nickname):
Carpenter debates with Bhikkhu Udāyi about 2 fold vedana versus 3.
The Buddha clears up this dispute by explaining he uses many numbered vedana schemes.
The Buddha then contrasts the highest sukha for worldlings being 5 cords of sense pleasure,
and then uses sukha (pleasure) to describe the 9 successive meditative attainments.
Buddha explains sukha can be applied to a broader range of experience than just sukha vedana.

SN 36.20 0m, Bhikkhu: monk
same as SN 36.19, without the intro dispute and starts from the point where the Buddha describes difference between 2 and 3 types of feeling.

Aṭṭha-sata-pariyāya Vagga: One hundred and eight explained (chapter 3 of 3)

SN 36.21 0m, Moḷiyasīvaka: (name of wanderer):
Some outsiders held wrong view that all diseases are due to Kamma.
Buddha explains kamma is just one of eight possible causes. Bile, phlegm, and also wind,
Imbalance and climate too, Carelessness and assault, With kamma result as the eighth. (7 out of 8 are bodily ailments)

SN 36.22 0m, Aṭṭha-sata-pariyāya: 108 = 8 + 100 explained:
number-factored classifications for feelings, all total up to 108.
2 types are bodily mental, 3 types, 5, 6, 18, 36, etc.

SN 36.23 0m, Bhikkhu: monk:
7-factored way of analyzing phenomena applied to vedana.
what now is feeling?
What is the origin of feeling?
What is the way leading to the origination of feeling?
What is the cessation of feeling?
What is the way leading to the cessation of feeling?
What is the gratification in feeling?
What is the danger?
What is the escape?”

SN 36.24 0m, Pubbe: before:
same content as SN 36.23, except setting is Buddha before his awakening.

SN 36.25 0m, Ñāṇa: Knowledge:
praising the 7-factored method of SN 36.23, using the formula of 4NT dhamma-cakka-pavattana:
in regard to things unheard before, there arose in me vision, knowledge, wisdom, true knowledge, and light.

SN 36.26 0m, Sam-bahula-bhikkhu: with-many-monks:
same content as SN 36.23 except audience is a group of monks

SN 36.27 0m, Samaṇa-brāhmaṇa 1: ascetics and brahmins:
those who understand 3 types of feelings earn the title ascetic or brahmin, while those who don't, dont.

SN 36.28 0m, Samaṇa-brāhmaṇa 2: ascetics and brahmins:
slighty different version of SN 36.27, examining other aspects of 3 feelings

SN 36.29 0m, Samaṇa-brāhmaṇa 3: ascetics and brahmins:
slighty different version of SN 36.27, examining other aspects of 3 feelings

SN 36.30 0m, Suddhika-vedanā: simple-(version)-feelings:
This is the whole sutta: “Bhikkhus, there are these three feelings.
What three? Pleasant feeling, painful feeling, neither-painful-nor-pleasant feeling.”
(Probably is an intro to next sutta)

SN 36.31 0m, Nirāmisa : unworldly:
3 types of feelings in jhāna or Nirvana get special name.
“Bhikkhus, there is carnal rapture, there is spiritual rapture, there is rapture more spiritual than the spiritual. There is carnal happiness, there is spiritual happiness, there is happiness more spiritual than the spiritual. There is carnal equanimity, there is spiritual equanimity, there is equanimity more spiritual than the spiritual. There is carnal deliverance, there is spiritual deliverance, there is deliverance more spiritual than the spiritual.

Suttas that emphasize bodily origin of vedana

suttas using 3 fold vedana scheme where anatomical body is the cause of vedana

suttas SN 36.4, SN 36.6, SN 36.7, SN 36.12, SN 36.13

vedana scheme not three fold

SN 36.14: 9 fold scheme, but it's based on 3 basic ones, and then multiplied by 3 to get 9. One set of 3 is the sukha of jhāna, which is bodily
SN 36.21: 8 types of causes of vedana, last one is kamma, the first 7 have to do with bodily illness.
SN 36.8, SN 36.10: connect them with "contact" (phassa). remaining 5 suttas in vagga don't qualify whether vedana is physical or mental.

☸ Lucid 24.org 🐘🐾‍