☸4ntSN → SN 47

SN 47 Satipaṭṭhāna 🐘 Saṃyutta

104 suttas, 10 vaggas (chapters)
first 50 unique, remainder is repetition series

Ambapāli (name of famous courtesan) Vagga 1

SN 47.1 Ambapāli: STED samma sati formula, prefaced by famous statement: “Mendicants, the four kinds of mindfulness meditation are the path to convergence. They are in order to purify sentient beings, to get past sorrow and crying, to make an end of pain and sadness, to complete the procedure, and to realize extinguishment.
SN 47.2 Sato: And how is a mendicant mindful? Kathañca, bhikkhave, bhikkhu sato hoti? (by practicing 4sp)

And how is a mendicant aware? Kathañca, bhikkhave, bhikkhu sampajāno hoti? 3.2It’s when a mendicant acts with situational awareness when going out and coming back; when looking ahead and aside; when bending and extending the limbs; when bearing the outer robe, bowl and robes; when eating, drinking, chewing, and tasting; when urinating and defecating; when walking, standing, sitting, sleeping, waking, speaking, and keeping silent.
SN 47.3 Bhikkhu: when your ethics are well purified and your view is correct, you should develop the four kinds of mindfulness meditation in three ways, depending on and grounded on ethics. (practice 4sp internally, externally, both) to arahanthship
SN 47.4 Sālā: (name of village): all 4sp are done simultaneously with jhana samadhi: Those mendicants who are trainees—who haven’t achieved their heart’s desire, but live aspiring to the supreme sanctuary—also meditate observing an aspect of the body—keen, aware, at one, with a clear mind, immersed in samādhi, so as to fully understand the body. Yepi te, bhikkhave, bhikkhū sekhā appattamānasā anuttaraṃ yogakkhemaṃ patthayamānā viharanti, tepi kāye kāyānupassino viharanti ātāpino sampajānā ekodibhūtā vippasannacittā samāhitā ekaggacittā, kāyassa pariññāya;
SN 47.5 Kusalarāsi: 5niv are heap of akusala, 4sp are heap of kusala
SN 47.6 Sakuṇagghi: 🐦 simile of quail: always stay in 4sp, to avoid death
SN 47.7 Makkaṭa: 🐒 simile of monkey: always stay in 4sp, to avoid death
SN 47.8 sūda: 👩‍🍳 🍳 The cook: simile of cook: how to use 4sp (learning the sign (nimitta))to take you into jhanas. Obtaining pleasant abiding here and now is a code phrase for the first 3 jhānas (AN 6.29), or all 4 jhānas (AN 4.41).
SN 47.9 Gilāna: buddha close to death but prolongs life
SN 47.10 bhikkhun-upassaya: Nuns-quarters: How to use 4sp (and 7sb) to take you into first jhāna using V&V. Once that skill is mastered, V&V not needed to bring you into jhāna, you directly jump to "undirected development", which is equivalent to jumping to step #5 of 7sb to enter samādhi.

Nālandā (name of place) Vagga 2

SN 47.11 Mahāpurisa: a great man: is one who practices 4sp
SN 47.12 Nālandā: sariputta infers that all buddhas must have used 4sp agianst 5niv to fulfill 7sb
SN 47.13 Cunda: sariputta passes. So Ānanda, be your own island, your own refuge, with no other refuge. Let the teaching be your island and your refuge, with no other refuge. Tasmātihānanda, attadīpā viharatha attasaraṇā anaññasaraṇā, dhammadīpā dhammasaraṇā anaññasaraṇā. And how does a mendicant do this? Kathañcānanda, bhikkhu attadīpo viharati attasaraṇo anaññasaraṇo, dhammadīpo dhammasaraṇo anaññasaraṇo? (with 4sp)
SN 47.14 Ukkacela: Buddha says sangha looks empty without his 2 chief disciples who just passed.
SN 47.15 Bāhiya: nearly same as #3
SN 47.16 Uttiya: nearly same as #3
SN 47.17 Ariya: 4sp leads to ariya status and "end of suffering"
SN 47.18 Brahma: content same as #1, with Brahma as witness
SN 47.19 Sedaka: 🤹 acrobat: looking after yourself and others, with 4sp, metta, harmlessness
SN 47.20 Janapada-kalyāṇī : 💃🤷🤺 world beauty queen, man with sword, balance bowl of oil

Sīla-ṭ-ṭhita (virtue & duration) Vagga 3

🔗🔊 ~40m eng. suttas 21-100 🤖🎙️
SN 47.21 Sīla
SN 47.22 Ṭhiti
SN 47.23 Parihāna
SN 47.24 Suddhaka
SN 47.25 Brāhmaṇa
SN 47.26 Padesa
SN 47.27 Samatta
SN 47.28 Loka
SN 47.29 Sirivaḍḍha
SN 47.30 Mānadinna

An-anus-suta (unheard before) Vagga 4

🔗🔊 ~40m eng. suttas 21-100 🤖🎙️
SN 47.31 Ananussuta
SN 47.32 Virāga
SN 47.33 Viraddha
SN 47.34 Bhāvita
SN 47.35 Sato
SN 47.36 Aññā
SN 47.37 Chanda
SN 47.38 Pariññāta
SN 47.39 Bhāvanā
SN 47.40 Vibhaṅga

A-mata (death-less) Vagga 5

🔗🔊 ~40m eng. suttas 21-100 🤖🎙️
SN 47.41 Amata
SN 47.42 Samudaya
SN 47.43 Magga
SN 47.44 Sato
SN 47.45 Kusalarāsi
SN 47.46 Pātimokkha
SN 47.47 Duccarita
SN 47.48 Mitta
SN 47.49 Vedanā
SN 47.50 Āsava

Gaṅgā-peyyāla (ganges repetition) Vagga 6

🔗🔊 ~40m eng. suttas 21-100 🤖🎙️
SN 47.51 Pācīnaninna 1
SN 47.52 Pācīnaninna 2
SN 47.53 Pācīnaninna 3
SN 47.54 Pācīnaninna 4
SN 47.55 Pācīnaninna 5
SN 47.56 Pācīnaninna 6
SN 47.57 Samuddaninna 1
SN 47.58 Samuddaninna 2
SN 47.59 Samuddaninna 3
SN 47.60 Samuddaninna 4
SN 47.61 Samuddaninna 5
SN 47.62 Samuddaninna 6

Ap-pamāda (assiduous) Vagga 7

🔗🔊 ~40m eng. suttas 21-100 🤖🎙️
SN 47.63 Tathāgata
SN 47.64 Pada
SN 47.65 Kūṭa
SN 47.66 Mūla
SN 47.67 Sāra
SN 47.68 Vassika
SN 47.69 Rāja
SN 47.70 Candima
SN 47.71 Suriya
SN 47.72 Vattha

Bala-karaṇīya (strenuous deeds) Vagga 8

🔗🔊 ~40m eng. suttas 21-100 🤖🎙️
SN 47.73 Bala
SN 47.74 Bīja
SN 47.75 Nāga
SN 47.76 Rukkha
SN 47.77 Kumbha
SN 47.78 Sūka
SN 47.79 Ākāsa
SN 47.80 Megha 1
SN 47.81 Megha 2
SN 47.82 Nāvā
SN 47.83 Āgantuka
SN 47.84 Nadī

Esanā (searches) Vagga 9

🔗🔊 ~40m eng. suttas 21-100 🤖🎙️
SN 47.85 Esanā
SN 47.86 Vidhā
SN 47.87 Āsava
SN 47.88 Bhava
SN 47.89 Dukkhatā
SN 47.90 Khīla
SN 47.91 Mala
SN 47.92 Nīgha
SN 47.93 Vedanā
SN 47.94 Taṇhā

Ogha (floods) Vagga 10

🔗🔊 ~40m eng. suttas 21-100 🤖🎙️
SN 47.95 Ogha
SN 47.96 Yoga
SN 47.97 Upādāna
SN 47.98 Gantha
SN 47.99 Anusaya
SN 47.100 Kāmaguṇa
SN 47.101 Nīvaraṇa
SN 47.102 Upādānakkhandha
SN 47.103 Oram­bhāgiya­saṃyojana
SN 47.104 Uddham­bhāgiya­saṃyojana

🐘☸     (⤴)