4👑☸ Cattāri Ariya-saccaṃ 四聖諦

SN 47 Sati-'paṭṭhāna 🐘 Saṃyutta

[☸Dharma] remembrance-establishing collection (of suttas)

104 suttas, 10 vaggas (chapters)
first 50 unique, remainder is repetition series

4👑☸SN‍SN 47📇     4sp🐘   7🐘   🔝

Ambapāli (name of famous courtesan) Vagga 1

SN 47.1 Ambapāli: (name of famous courtesan)

STED sammā sati (4sp🐘) formula, prefaced by famous statement:
“Monks, the four kinds of [☸Dharma-instruction] remembering
is the only way to purify sentient beings,
1) to go beyond sorrow and lamentation,
2) to make an end of pain and distress,
3) to complete the procedure,
4) and to realize nirvana.

SN 47.2 Sato: Rememberful

Here the Buddha gives the important STED definition for S&S🐘💭:
And how is a monk rememberful (sati)? By keeping in mind, being mindful and rememberful of ☸Dharma, specifically, the 4sp🐘 as the default Dharma, unless another set of Dharma instructions in context is more appropriate at the time.

And how is a monk lucidly-discerning (sam-pajāno)?
It’s when a monk acts with lucid-discerning when going out and coming back; when looking ahead and aside; when bending and extending the limbs; when bearing the outer robe, bowl and robes; when eating, drinking, chewing, and tasting; when urinating and defecating; when walking, standing, sitting, sleeping, waking, speaking, and keeping silent.

SN 47.3 Bhikkhu: monk

when your ethics are well purified and your view is correct, you should develop the four kinds of mindfulness meditation in three ways, depending on and grounded on ethics. (practice 4sp🐘 internally, externally, both) to arahanthship

SN 47.4 Sālā: (name of village):

  As MN 125, AN 8.63, and many other suttas show, jhāna and satipaṭṭhāna are done concurrently.
  not only are Jhāna and 4sp🐘 done simultaneously, you can see here the Buddha expects even newly ordained monks to quickly attain some level of competency with first and second jhāna.
SN (Variant 4sp🐘 formula replaces ‘sati’ and inserts samādhi equivalent to 4 jhānas)
SN (new ordained monk trains for knowledge of seeing things as they truly are, yathā-bhūtaṃ ñāṇāya )
SN (sekha/trainee trains for complete knowledge of seeing things as they truly are, kāyassa pariññāya;)
SN (arahant doesn’t need to train, they just do the right thing, being detached from body, kāyena visaṃyuttā;)

SN 47.5 Kusala-rāsi: skillful heap

5niv⛅ are heap of akusala, 4sp🐘 are heap of kusala

SN 47.6 Sakuṇagghi: 🐦 (the) quail:

always stay in 4sp🐘, to avoid death

SN 47.7 Makkaṭa: 🐒 (the) monkey:

always stay in 4sp🐘, to avoid death

SN 47.8 sūda: 👩‍🍳 🍳 The cook:

simile of cook: how to use 4sp🐘 (learning the sign (nimitta))to take you into jhanas. Obtaining pleasant abiding here and now is a code phrase for the first 3 jhānas (AN 6.29), or all 4 jhānas (AN 4.41).

SN 47.9 Gilāna: sick

buddha close to death but prolongs life, controls body pain with animitta samadhi, and declares the 4sp🐘 is your lamp, island, refuge, not the Buddha or one of his great disciples.

SN 47.10 bhikkhun-upassaya: Nuns-quarters:

How to use 4sp🐘 (and 7sb☀️) to take you into first jhāna using V&V💭. Once that skill is mastered, V&V not needed to bring you into jhāna, you directly jump to "undirected development", which is equivalent to jumping to step #5 of 7sb to enter samādhi.

Nālandā (name of place) Vagga 2

SN 47.11 Mahāpurisa: a great man:

is one who practices 4sp

SN 47.12 Nālandā:

sariputta infers that all buddhas must have used 4sp agianst 5niv to fulfill 7sb

SN 47.13 Cunda:

sariputta passes. So Ānanda, be your own island, your own refuge, with no other refuge. Let the teaching be your island and your refuge, with no other refuge. Tasmātihānanda, attadīpā viharatha attasaraṇā anaññasaraṇā, dhammadīpā dhammasaraṇā anaññasaraṇā. And how does a mendicant do this? Kathañcānanda, bhikkhu attadīpo viharati attasaraṇo anaññasaraṇo, dhammadīpo dhammasaraṇo anaññasaraṇo? (with 4sp)

SN 47.14 Ukkacela:

Buddha says sangha looks empty without his 2 chief disciples who just passed.

SN 47.15 Bāhiya:

nearly same as #3

SN 47.16 Uttiya:

nearly same as #3

SN 47.17 Ariya:

4sp leads to ariya status and "end of suffering"

SN 47.18 Brahma:

content same as #1, with Brahma as witness

SN 47.19 Sedaka: 🤹 acrobat:

looking after yourself and others, with 4sp, metta, harmlessness

SN 47.20 Janapada-kalyāṇī: 💃🤷🤺 world beauty-queen

, man with sword, balance bowl of oil

Sīla-ṭ-ṭhita (virtue & duration) Vagga 3

🔗🔊 ~40m eng. suttas 21-100 🤖🎙️

SN 47.21 Sīla

SN 47.22 Ṭhiti

SN 47.23 Parihāna

SN 47.24 Suddhaka

SN 47.25 Brāhmaṇa

SN 47.26 Padesa

SN 47.27 Samatta

SN 47.28 Loka

SN 47.29 Sirivaḍḍha

SN 47.30 Mānadinna

An-anus-suta (unheard before) Vagga 4

🔗🔊 ~40m eng. suttas 21-100 🤖🎙️

SN 47.31 Ananussuta

SN 47.32 Virāga

SN 47.33 Viraddha

SN 47.34 Bhāvita

SN 47.35 Sato

SN 47.36 Aññā

SN 47.37 Chanda

SN 47.38 Pariññāta

SN 47.39 Bhāvanā

SN 47.40 Vibhaṅga

A-mata (death-less) Vagga 5

🔗🔊 ~40m eng. suttas 21-100 🤖🎙️

SN 47.41 Amata

SN 47.42 Samudaya

SN 47.43 Magga

SN 47.44 Sato

SN 47.45 Kusalarāsi

SN 47.46 Pātimokkha

SN 47.47 Duccarita

SN 47.48 Mitta

SN 47.49 Vedanā

SN 47.50 Āsava

Gaṅgā-peyyāla (ganges repetition) Vagga 6

🔗🔊 ~40m eng. suttas 21-100 🤖🎙️

SN 47.51 Pācīnaninna 1

SN 47.52 Pācīnaninna 2

SN 47.53 Pācīnaninna 3

SN 47.54 Pācīnaninna 4

SN 47.55 Pācīnaninna 5

SN 47.56 Pācīnaninna 6

SN 47.57 Samuddaninna 1

SN 47.58 Samuddaninna 2

SN 47.59 Samuddaninna 3

SN 47.60 Samuddaninna 4

SN 47.61 Samuddaninna 5

SN 47.62 Samuddaninna 6

Ap-pamāda (assiduous) Vagga 7

🔗🔊 ~40m eng. suttas 21-100 🤖🎙️

SN 47.63 Tathāgata

SN 47.64 Pada

SN 47.65 Kūṭa

SN 47.66 Mūla

SN 47.67 Sāra

SN 47.68 Vassika

SN 47.69 Rāja

SN 47.70 Candima

SN 47.71 Suriya

SN 47.72 Vattha

Bala-karaṇīya (strenuous deeds) Vagga 8

🔗🔊 ~40m eng. suttas 21-100 🤖🎙️

SN 47.73 Bala

SN 47.74 Bīja

SN 47.75 Nāga

SN 47.76 Rukkha

SN 47.77 Kumbha

SN 47.78 Sūka

SN 47.79 Ākāsa

SN 47.80 Megha 1

SN 47.81 Megha 2

SN 47.82 Nāvā

SN 47.83 Āgantuka

SN 47.84 Nadī

Esanā (searches) Vagga 9

🔗🔊 ~40m eng. suttas 21-100 🤖🎙️

SN 47.85 Esanā

SN 47.86 Vidhā

SN 47.87 Āsava

SN 47.88 Bhava

SN 47.89 Dukkhatā

SN 47.90 Khīla

SN 47.91 Mala

SN 47.92 Nīgha

SN 47.93 Vedanā

SN 47.94 Taṇhā

Ogha (floods) Vagga 10

🔗🔊 ~40m eng. suttas 21-100 🤖🎙️

SN 47.95 Ogha

SN 47.96 Yoga

SN 47.97 Upādāna

SN 47.98 Gantha

SN 47.99 Anusaya

SN 47.100 Kāmaguṇa

SN 47.101 Nīvaraṇa

SN 47.102 Upādānakkhandha

SN 47.103 Oram­bhāgiya­saṃyojana

SN 47.104 Uddham­bhāgiya­saṃyojana

☸ Lucid 24.org 🐘🐾‍